5th BirthdayI grew up in a hollow (pronounced holler) named Stevens Branch.  For most of my life the closest children, other than my sister, lived over 1/2 mile away. 

When I was young a family moved across the road from us.  The family had a boy who was about my age.  The boy and I became fast friends.  We played together all the time. 

The boy’s family was very poor and the boy did not have very many toys but I was glad to share because I had someone to play with.  The boy did have a few toys and his favorite toy was an orange plastic dune buggy.  Really cool toy to play with in the dirt, which is were we played most of the time.

On my birthday, I received something that I will never forget my entire life.

On my birthday, I did not have a party but my mom did got me a nice cake and had candles and ice cream and the whole thing.  When I asked my neighbor to come over, at first he said that he couldn’t, when I told him that I really wanted to come over he agreed.

When my friend showed up, he brought his beloved dune buggy with him.  After I blew out my candles, my friend handed me his dune buggy and wished me a happy birthday.  I told him that I could not take it because it was his favorite toy.  The boy told me that it made him feel good that he could give me something because I had been so nice to him.

The picture above is of my holding that dune buggy after it was given to me.  I think I held it that entire day and slept with it that night.

This thought me that I may not have much to give, but I should still give and kindness will come back to you.

I have given when it hurt,  but more times than not, the gift was repaid several times over.

I will never forget giving is good.