240haywoodSomeone once said If all you’re doing is coaching football, you’re not doing enough!

Philip Haywood took (and I am sure he still does take) great interest in his players.  Coach Haywood showed me that if I really work for something, I can have it.  If I relax and take it easy because I am entitled to something, it will slip away.

As an example, when I was a freshman in high school, I was on the football team but didn’t try.  I took it easy in practice and did not work hard in the weight room. 

During the summer between my freshman and sophomore years, I had a one on one meeting with Coach Haywood who asked me why I wanted to play football.  I did not have an answer for him.  I really didn’t.  Football was something I had always done because my dad told me that I needed to play football.  Here I am 14 years old trying to figure out why I wanted to play football.  Coach Haywood asked me to come back when I figured out why I wanted to play football.  All this time when I was taking it easy in practice I though Coach did not see me but little did I know, he saw EVERYTHING.

Over the weekend I thought and thought for a special reason as to why I wanted to play football but couldn’t.  Sometime early the next week, I had a dream about a football game I had played in Elementary school.  We were playing Paintsville and they were supposed to be the stuff because at the time Paintsville High School was class A state champs.  The game was a tough one, back and forth the entire game but in the end, we came out on top.  We had so much fun playing that game.  When I awoke, I knew why I wanted to play football.  It was so much fun winning.

I had a meeting with Coach Haywood and explained why I wanted to play football.  He asked me if I was willing to work had and help the team win.  That summer, I committed myself to becoming strong, fit, and learn a very complicated Oklahoma offence.  I worked hard in 2 a days and got close to the seniors.

Come the first game of the season, my name was on the starting lineup.  As a Sophomore, I was starting!!! All because I worked for it.  Worked very hard for it. 

Let’s fast forward to my junior year.  I thought that I was “A Starter”.  I had the job, it was mine, I don’t have to work for it.  I did not work hard in the gym in the off season.  I took it easy during 2 a days.  Fast forward to the first game of the season, I started the game on the bench.  I played most of the game, but I did not start.

Over that weekend, I got the lesson Coach Haywood was teaching me.  Starting Monday, I worked harder than I ever have.  I never spoke to coach about that game but Coach Haywood saw a change in my attitude.  Next Friday, my name was on the starting line up.

Even though coach Haywood left at the end of my Junior year, the lessons he tough me have stayed with me and will for the rest of my life.